Before we are going to take a look at the definitions of “Append” and “Append To” in Microsoft Dynamics 365, let us take a moment to remind ourselves of the security roles in CRM. There are 15 default security rules that come with Microsoft Dynamics 365 right out of the box as well as one Business Unit. The security roles determine how much access is granted to what role. Depending on whether you are the CEO, a high-level executive or a customer service representative, your level of access within the organization will vary.

Moreover, a single user may take on more than one security role. In the case of a multiple-role-user, the user privileges will stack up and the respective user will be granted the highest possible level of access. As such, having multiple roles can serve to significantly increase one’s access privileges. Once a user record has been established, the system administrator is able to grant new security roles via the “Manage Roles” button. This button can be found in the command bar and can be used in order to determine which roles should be granted to the respective user.

The following three elements help define any of the three-dimensional security roles that can be assigned to any given user within the system:

  1. The types of actions that the user is able to perform (i.e.: deleting, assigning, writing, appending, etc.)
  2. What system features/ records does the user have access to?
  3. How far is their reach within the system? (i.e. business unit, user, organization, none, etc.)

 

Security Roles in Microsoft Dynamics CRM

 Security role tips:

It is best to not use the out of the box settings when it comes to security roles. Businesses are advised to then modify the security role settings in order to tailor them to their organization. Make sure to create a copy of the original roles that you want to assign to a user so that you do not alter the original, but can use it as a template at a later point in time as well. Editing a copy of original security role settings gives you the benefit that these come with several important nuances when it comes to assigning security privileges. You might find it hard to set up these nuances if you are defining these security roles on your own.

Copying business roles with Microsoft Dynamics CRM

All child business units will be affected when you hit the “Save” button while working on an active role. As such, this goes to show why you should never modify the original security roles directly. If you press the “Save” button by accident, the original security role set-up will forever be lost to you. Please make sure to always stick to these tips. The only exception to this rule is granting limited access or privileges (i.e. “Export to Excel”). Creating a security role with this limited type of access can easily be done.

“Append” and “Append To” Defined

Now that we have taken a look at the different security roles in Microsoft Dynamics CRM, it is time to define the difference between “Append” and “Append To.” First off, you should know that these are out of the box features that you are not going to have to configure yourself. As such, you need not worry if you do not understand their meaning in all of its nuances. However, “Append” and “Append To” do go hand in hand and can be found right beside each other. Simply take a look at the security configuration window to see that this is so.  “Append” and “Append To” stand in a direct relationship to each other. Understanding this concept will help you make sense of these two roles. Appending record X to record Y requires an agreement on both sides. Both X and Y need to agree, much like if X was calling Y and Y had to actually answer the phone in order for the phone call to take place.

Creating a security role with Microsoft Dynamics CRM

As such, you can imagine that not grating the appropriate “Append” and “Append To” privileges on both sides will cause a “Business Process Error.”

 

Defining user rights with Microsoft Dynamics CRM 

Of course, you will want to prevent this from happening. As such, you will need to think about the processes that are going on in your business and figure out whether access privileges will need to be granted from both sides. Select the “Append” and “Append To” options accordingly in order to prevent anything from going wrong.